Clear Lake

I sat calmly on the creaking docks, letting my feet dangle wistfully over the edge. The dark mysteries beneath the water’s glossy surface would forever hold the thoughts and the dreams of my childhood, and the way things used to be. I drowned out the blasting boat music, pulsing through the brisk air. I pictured the twinkle in my grandfather’s eye, as he used to cast his fishing rod all of those years ago. His tanned arms were poised on the wooden rail; his bright smile radiating light toward those around him. He was like an angel to me; his words were kind, and he always graced me with the most important gift of all: love.

As I inhaled the light, salty breeze, I could practically taste the days of yesteryear when life was less complicated. My emotions drifted away, searching hopelessly through the past. I stood up swiftly, feeling the ribbed docks beneath my feet. I shed my towel and stood with my feet hanging over the edge, awaiting departure.

Without vacillation, I leaped off of the solid ground, plummeting far beneath the broken algae floating on the water’s edge. The soft waves inundated my body, sending my hair hanging messily around me. I drifted around, suspended calmly in the grasp of the boat wakes, coming up only to take gasps of air. The water will forever be a second home to me, never failing to bring back prized memories. Caught in the heat of the moment, I had to choke back the tears that reminded how one day, this would be a simple memory like all of the others.

3 responses to “Clear Lake

  1. Great post! You write beautifully. Thank you so much for your sweet comment on my blog today! 🙂 It really means a lot that you commented.
    xo-kimberly renee

  2. I think you should add more detail about your grandfather.
    I’d like to know more about him 😉
    HAHAHA.
    So I love you, a ton.
    And your grandpa…
    And Strempdawg…
    Anddd you’re writing ❤

  3. this piece is visually superb! I adore a good descriptive read that allows me to be right there inside the imagery the author paints! I would LOVE for u to check out my “Creative Playground” tab on my blog and click on my site “Social Muze”! It’s a little site I put together for my blog and AllPoetry dot com friends to talk about art, photography, poetry etc… 🙂 I would love for you to be a part of it! At least take a peak 🙂 I will def be back!!! 🙂
    Kellie

Leave a Reply

