Beautiful

Growing up, I read the magazines. I watched the commercials. I stared in awe at the “flawless” bodies and faces of the celebrities. I was just another face in the crowd; just another kid who dreamt of being adored. Looking back at who I was, you could say I was brainwashed. I thought perfect could be reached by dieting, buying designer labels, and applying numerous layers of makeup. All I wanted was to be  what our society considered beautiful.

You could say I’ve matured, or you could say I’m going crazy. But somewhere in between the lines of feeling misunderstood and confused, I learned what beauty was. It isn’t only skin-deep. Beauty runs from your heart, through your veins, while it either encompasses you or abandons you. Beauty from within is reflected to those around you.

I’m just about as imperfect as they come. I lie, I cheat, I pretend. I run away from my problems, and I care too much what other’s think of me. I have hurt other people due to a lack of self-esteem, and I overreact in many situations. I guess I’m just like you, in a way. Our mistakes make us beautiful. Maybe, one day, I’ll find that beauty within myself. Until then, I’ll wait. Maybe, one day, someone will see past my flaws, and love me for who I am. Until then, I’ll wait. These lives weren’t meant to be lived alone, waiting for a better tomorrow. The beauty has taught us to take a stand and rise above. Do me a favor and always remember: you ARE beautiful. Embrace it.

“Maybe you think your mom and dad love you but if you do the wrong things, they’ll try and turn you into dirt, just like mine tried to turn me to dirt. It’s your punishment for being you. Don’t play their game. Nothing can touch you; you stay beautiful.” – Smack by Melvin Burgess

“And to the rest of the world, God gave you shoes to fit you.  So put ’em on and wear ’em. Be yourself man, be proud of who you are. Even if it sounds corny: don’t ever let anyone tell you you ain’t beautiful.” – Beautiful  by Eminem

“And when you find everything you looked for, I hope your life leads you back to my door. Oh, but if it don’t, stay beautiful. If you and I are a story, that never gets told…  If what you are is a daydream, I’ll never get to hold, at least you’ll know: you’re beautiful, every little piece, love don’t you know, you’re really gonna be someone. Ask anyone.” –Stay Beautiful by Taylor Swift.

The words are out there.

What does “beautiful” mean to you?

Leave a Reply

